The 2015 Prize


The timetable for the 2015 Walter Scott Prize is as follows:

October 2014: Prize opens for entries from publishers

31st January 2015: Prize closes for entries

February 2015: Longlist of twelve books announced

March 2015: Shortlist announced at London event

11-14th June 2015: Borders Book Festival, Melrose

Winner of Walter Scott Prize 2015 announced and presented

September 2016: Prize opens for entries for 2016 Prize


How to enter

Books must be entered by publishers. Self-published books are not eligible, where the author is the publisher or where a company has been specifically set up to publish that book.

Books must have been written in English and have been first published in 2014, in the UK, Ireland or the Commonwealth, or elsewhere if the author is a British national provided they are also published in the UK in that calendar year.

For Walter Scott Prize purposes, ‘historical’ is defined as books that are set, in the majority, at least 60 years ago, and therefore outside the mature personal experience of the author.

To download the Prize Rules and Criteria, please click here.

For a submission form, please contact the Prize Administrator using this form.

Please note that finished or proof copies of books are acceptable, but we are not able to accept electronic or eBook entries.

The Longlist

The longlist for the 2015 Walter Scott Prize for Historical Fiction will be announced in February 2015.

The Shortlist

The shortlist for the 2015 Walter Scott Prize for Historical Fiction will be announced in March 2015.